Skip Links

Dave Petrusma elected as new Councillor

Dave Petrusma with Mayor and CEO

Congratulations to new Mount Alexander Shire Councillor, Dave Petrusma.

Wednesday 22 November 2017

Mount Alexander Shire has a new Councillor following the election of Dave Petrusma to the Castlemaine ward vacancy.

Councillor Elect Petrusma fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Tony Bell in October.

The extraordinary vacancy was filled through an election countback conducted by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) today.

“I’d like to thank Tony Bell for his many years as a Councillor and I would also like to recognise my fellow candidates,” said Mr Petrusma.

“I’m looking forward to working as a team with the other Councillors,” he said.

Councillor Elect Petrusma will take the Oath of Office and make a declaration to abide by the Councillor Code of Conduct on Friday.

Mayor Bronwen Machin said Councillors and staff were happy to have Mr Petrusma on board.

“Dave is passionate about the community and we are excited to have his local knowledge and expertise on Council,” said Mayor Machin.

“He also brings experience from his three year term as a Councillor in 2000, which will be so valuable,” she said.

Along with Mayor Machin, Cr Elect Petrusma joins Mount Alexander Shire Councillors Robin Taylor, John Nieman, Christine Henderson and Tony Cordy.

There are three councillors in the Castlemaine Ward, elected under the proportional system of voting.

Former Councillor Chris Cole received the highest number of votes for the initial countback held earlier in the week, but declined the position.

The extraordinary vacancy in the Tarrengower Ward will be filled through a by-election planned for 17 February 2018. The vacancy occurred following the resignation of former Mayor Sharon Telford.

Image: Mayor Bronwen Machin and CEO Darren Fuzzard welcome Councillor Elect Dave Petrusma (centre).

More latest news...

Powered by