Skip Links

Who will you nominate for the Australia Day awards?

Smiling faces of award winners with Mayor Machin and MP Maree Edwards.

Monday 11 November 2019

It’s time to put pen to paper and nominate a community member or local event for the 2020 Mount Alexander Shire Australia Day Awards.

“We have such a generous community and would love to have nominations for people who have made a real difference in our shire,” said Bronwen Machin, Mayor of Mount Alexander Shire Council.

“There are so many people doing extraordinary things – whether it’s volunteering their time for the community or their passion, making an impact on the environment or the lives of others – whatever it is – we want you to nominate them,” said Cr Machin.

“There are countless deserving recipients and wonderful events but we need them to be nominated for us to consider them for the awards,” said Cr Machin.

“It was wonderful last year to be able to recognise the efforts of Ken Maddern, Milou Albrecht, Brian McCormick and the Mount Alexander Seniors Festival volunteers, who took out the top awards.

“We’re looking forward to seeing who our community will nominate this year.

“It’s very straightforward to make a nomination – you can download the form from our website or pick up a copy from the Civic Centre or Visitor Information Centres in Maldon or Castlemaine,” said Cr Machin.

The four categories for the 2020 Mount Alexander Australia Day Awards are:

• Citizen of the Year
• Young Citizen of the Year (aged under 26 on 26 January 2020)
• Senior Citizen of the Year (aged over 65 years on 26 January 2020)
• Community Event of the Year.

Eligible nominees must live in Mount Alexander Shire, be an Australian citizen
and have given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years.

Recipients will be announced at a community event on Australia Day at Victory Park.

Nominations are due by 5.00pm on Friday 6 December. Forms are available at www.mountalexander.vic.gov.au/AustraliaDay.

Image: This year's award recipients with Mayor Bronwen Machin and Maree Edwards MP.

More latest news...

Powered by